North Judson Republicans to Caucus


Plans are being developed after it was learned the Town of North Judson will be hosting a Town Convention.

The decision was handed down by the Starke County Clerk’s office after Jesiah Clemons’ paperwork to run for the North Judson Town Council’s Ward 2 seat as an Independent was rejected. Clemons had previously filed to run as a Republican for the seat, which was accepted by the County Clerk’s office.
Continue reading

Election Board Places N.J.-S.P. Tax Referendum on November Ballot

North Judson-San Pierre Admin buildingThe Starke County Election Board considered placing the North Judson-San Pierre tax referendum on the ballot, this week.

N.J.-S.P.’s School Board adopted the resolution to take the property tax levy increase to the public. Under the plan, an increase of 47-cents per $100 of assessed valuation would be seen in year one. The rate would drop to 27-cents per $100 of assessed valuation in subsequent years.

Continue reading

Questions Remain Over North Judson Ordinance Recertification


The Starke County Clerk’s office will continue attempts to receive confirmation regarding an issue that may have affected past elections.

During Monday’s Starke County Election Board meeting, recertified ordinances from the Town of North Judson were considered. The Town felt it necessary to bring annexation and ward map issues back from 2001 and 2012 after the ordinances were improperly certified. The error could make the annexation and ward map changes invalid.
Continue reading

Clerk’s Office Says Chances “Very Low” Unrecognized Resident Cast Ballot in North Judson Town Election


Officials with the Starke County Clerk’s office says they have methods in place to ensure residents cast election ballots in the proper place.

The comments follow the realization that the Town of North Judson did not properly file an annexation ordinance from 2001, and an ordinance outlining election Wards from 2012, with the Starke County Clerk’s office. Because the ordinances were not properly filed, the Starke County Clerk’s office is unable to recognize them until they’re recertified.

Continue reading

Ballots Possibly Cast In Wrong Precinct; Starke County Clerk to Seek State Advice


Elections in North Judson may have been affected after the Town failed to file a pair of ordinances with the Starke County Clerk’s office.

It was learned on Monday that an ordinance from 2001 outlining the annexation of land near North Judson, as well as an ordinance from 2012 redrawing election Wards, were filed with the Starke County Recorder’s office, but not the Clerk’s office. That means the changes are not recognized by the County until the ordinances are recertified.
Continue reading

City Court Judge Candidate Leaves Race Following State Law Passage


The Democratic candidate for City Court Judge in Knox has decided to bow out of the race.

HEA 1110 – which was signed into law in May of this year – was particularly influential in the race for City Court Judge in Knox. The law prevents non-attorneys, who are not currently serving, from becoming a City Court Judge. Neither Republican Charles Hasnerl, nor Democrat Angelo Masuka has been described as an attorney.
Continue reading