National Weather Service Issues Blizzard Warning


The National Weather Service has issued a blizzard warning for the WKVI listening area. It’s in effect from 8 a.m. EST/7 a.m. CST until 10 p.m. EST today. That’s in addition to the winter storm warning that’s in effect through tomorrow morning.

Snow, heavy at times, will develop this morning. It may begin as a brief period of freezing rain. Blizzard conditions are most likely from mid-morning through mid-evening.

Storm total snowfall accumulations of between 8 and 12 inches are expected by late Thursday afternoon, with locally higher amounts possible. Snowfall rates of between 1 and 2 inches an hour are likely from mid-morning through mid-evening.

In addition to the snow, north to northwest wind gusts of between 40 to 45 miles per hour will reduce visibility and create white-out conditions at times, especially in rural areas, from late morning through evening.

Travel conditions are expected to deteriorate quickly, and only emergency travel is recommended.